

MOHANLAL SUKHADIA UNIVERSITY, UDAIPUR FACULTY OF LAW NINTH SEMESTER BACHELOR OF ARTS AND LAWS INTEGRATED

(Session 2017-18)

PAPER – VI (PAPER CODE – BAL904) : (PAPER NAME – BANKING LAW AND NEGOTIABLE INSTRUMENT ACT, 1881) IX – SEMESTER

- UNIT-I Banking Regulation Act, 1940 : Business of Banking Companies, Control over Management, Prohibition of certain activities in relation to banking companies, Acquisition of the undertaking of Banking Companies in certain cases Suspension of Business and winding-up of Banking Companies, Special provisions for speedy disposal of winding-up proceedings, Miscellaneous, Application of the Act to the co-operative societies.
- UNIT-II State Bank of India Act, 1955 : Definitions, Incorporation and Share Capital of State Bank, Shares, Management, Business and Miscellaneous, State Bank of India (Subsidiary Banks Act, 1959 – Definitions, Constitution of New Banks and charge of name of any Subsidiary Bank, Compensation, Shares, Management, Business, Inspection.)
- UNIT-III Regional Rural Bank Act, 1976 : Definitions, Incorporation and Capital of Regional Rural Bank, Management, Business, Powers of Central Government, National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development Act, 1981; Definitions, Establishment of NABARD, Management, Transfer of Business, Borrowing, Credit and other function, Funds, Protection of Action, Indemnity of Directors and Penalties.
- UNIT-IV Banking Companies (Acquisition and Transfer of Undertaking) Act, 1970 : Definition, Transfers of the Undertaking of existing Banks, Payment of Compensation, Management of Corresponding New Banks, Indemnity Dissolution.

The Industrial Reconstruction Bank of India Act, 1984 : Definitions Establishment, Acquisition and Transfer of the undertaking of the industrial Reconstruction Corporation of India Limited, Management of Reconstruction Bank, Special Powers of the Reconstruction Bank.

UNIT-V Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 (Chapter II, III, IV, VI, IX, XII, XIII, XVII)

SUGGESTED READINGS :

- 1. State Bank of India Act, 1955
- 2. State Bank of India (Subsidiary Bank) Act 1950
- 3. Regional Rural Banks Act, 1976
- 4. National Bank for Agriculture & Rural Development Act, 1981
- 5. Rajasthan Co-operative Societies Act, 1964
- 6. Banking Companies (Acquisition and Transfer of Undertaking) Act, 1970 & 1980